About Music Critic  
Contact Music Critic  
Complete List
Jazz / Classical

Submit a Review!
Submit a Gig/Concert!

Featured Articles
Music-Critic Interviews
Tally Spencer of British Rock band, Jynxt.
Chris Colonna of Aussie outfit, bumblebeez 81!

Yahoo Music
Learning Resources
Privacy Policy
All about Music
What's On  


Buy Mix Tape Volume 1

Cali Kings
Mix Tape Volume 1
label: V Wax
released: 05.05.98
our score: 3.5 out of 5.

download Cali Kings lyrics and sheet music
Mix It Up
by: tom reiter

There really isn't too much to be said about this album, except for that it is good.  It is a mix tape of several rap songs, 27 to be exact.  It is a constant mix, with only a brief break from the Cali Kings in the beginning of a song or two.  It is a good choice of songs, ranging from a couple years ago to the present, from East Coast to West Coast.  Artists featured include Wu-Tang Clan, Timbaland and Magoo, Militia, Dialated Peoples, Ice Cube, Master P, KRS-One, and many more...

The brothers demonstrate their scratching and mixing techniques well,without overdoing it for the average listener.   This makes it an awesome dance party CD.  You can put it in and let it play all night, and most people will recognize the songs, even if they aren't hip-hop junkies.

Cali Kings Mix Tape Vol. 1 earns 3.5, and a recommendation that you pick it up if you want some good hip-hop at your next party! I'm looking forward to their second mix tape which is due sometime soon...
-July-1998 5:25 PM

Download Cali Kings Sheet Music, Guitar Tabs, or Lyrics at musicnotes.com!

If you liked Mix Tape Volume 1....

1. Whoop Whoop - DJ Pooh
2. Off The Books - Beatnuts
3. Jayou - Jurassic 5
4. Wu-Tang Clan Ain't Nuthing Ta F; Wit - Wu-Tang Clan
5. Pay Ya Dues - Low Profile
6. DJ Keep Playin' (Get Your Music On) - Full Force
7. Ain't No Fun (If the Homies Can't Have None) - Snoop Doggy Dog
8. Tha Bomb - Siamese
9. Only in California - Mack 10
10. Luv 2 Luv U [Remix] - Timbaland & Magoo
11. In the Flesh - Jurassic 5
12. 24/7 - 24
13. Burn - Militia
14. Cali Kings (Pt. 1) - Likwit Allstars
15. Work the Angles - Dialated Peoples
16. We Be Clubbin' - Ice Cube
17. ¿Que Dices? - Black Eyed Peas
18. Ghetto D - Master P
19. Universal Magnetic - Mos Def
20. We Be Clubbin' [Clark World Remix] - Ice Cube
21. 357 - Cam'Ron
22. I'm Still #1 - KRS-One
23. C.R.E.A.M. - Wu-Tang Clan
24. It's Been a Long Time - Rakim
25. The Big Fish - Tito & Ice Cube
26. You Know I'm a Ho - Master P
27. Cali Kings (Pt. 2) - Likwit Allstars