About Music Critic  
Contact Music Critic  
Complete List
Jazz / Classical

Submit a Review!
Submit a Gig/Concert!

Featured Articles
Music-Critic Interviews
Tally Spencer of British Rock band, Jynxt.
Chris Colonna of Aussie outfit, bumblebeez 81!

Yahoo Music
Learning Resources
Privacy Policy
All about Music
What's On  


Buy The Headphone Masterpiece

Cody Chesnutt
The Headphone Masterpiece
label: Ready Set Go
released: 01.21.03
our score: 4.5 out of 5.0

download Cody Chesnutt lyrics and sheet music
The Truthful Title
by: nick evans

Give any musician that's popular today a cheap 4-track recorder, very basic drum machine, and an array of instruments, and I guarantee you none of those people will give you something as creative, innovative, and most ambitious as The Headphone Masterpiece, the debut album from Cody ChesnuTT. Forget all you knew about how CD’s were supposed to be; the length of the album, the length of a song, hell, even the limits of what a song can be. This album spawns 2 CD’s and Mr. ChesnuTT wears his heart on his sleeve in 39 ambitious tracks, all recorded in his bedroom.

There isn’t any need to compare this guy to anyone, because there is absolutely no one like him. But should you desire to... take the weirdness of Beck, the funkiness of George Clinton, the rap of the Roots, the reggae style of Bob Marley, the rock n’ roll attitude of Lenny Kravitz, and the smooth voice of Bilal, mix it all into one, and you could probably have a good idea of what he sounds
like. This album crosses all genres - R&B to Rock, Reggae to Hardcore Hip Hop, Love Ballads to “Dis” songs, sound checks to classic rock, and much more.

On “Serve this Royalty”, he is backed by a full jazz horn section that gives a brilliant one and a half minute introduction, until he comes in, singing earnestly, “Platinum chains and gold is all a brother knows…” On “Bitch, I’m Broke,” he lets it all loose hurling hilarious insults at whoever wants to hear.

And this is one Chesnutt's finer points: he doesn’t take himself too seriously, which leaves room for a lot of creativity and ambition. This makes The Headphone Masterpiece the type of album that doesn’t come out every day, or even year for that matter. With each track laid out with heavy distortion to give it a sort of “amateur” and “lo-fi” feel, they end up sounding all the better. His voice and style sounds great rough and unpolished and several songs that span only a minute in length, but still make the impact of an entire song. What's more, each of these songs could easily be expanded on and turned into hits. And because of all of the genre barriers he smashes to the ground on this CD, its easy to listen to straight through, making The Headphone Masterpiece an album people will still be buying and talking about 5-10 years from now.
-Apr-2003 9:20 PM

Download Cody Chesnutt Sheet Music, Guitar Tabs, or Lyrics at musicnotes.com!

If you liked Mos Def & Talib Kweli are Black Star...

1. Magic In A Mortal Minute
2. With Me In Mind
3. Upstarts In A Blowout
4. Boylife In America
5. B**ch, I'm Broke
6. Serve This Royalty
7. The Seed
8. Enough Of Nothing
9. Setting The System
10. The Most Beautiful Shame
11. Smoke & Love
12. Michelle
13. No One Will
14. Batman vs. Blackman
15. Up The Treehouse
16. Can't Get No Betta'
17. She's Still Here
18. Can We Teach
19. The World Is Comin'
20. Brother With An Ego
21. War Between The Sexes
22. The Make Up
23. Out Of Nowhere
Disc: 2
1. Family On Blast
2. My Woman, My Guitars
3. Somebody's Parents
4. When I Find Time
5. Eric Burdon
6. Juicin' The Dark
7. Five On A Joyride
8. Daylight
9. So Much Beauty In The Subconcious
10. Daddy's Baby
11. If We Don't Disagree
12. Look Good In Leather
13. Six Seconds