About Music Critic  
Contact Music Critic  
Complete List
Jazz / Classical

Submit a Review!
Submit a Gig/Concert!

Featured Articles
Music-Critic Interviews
Tally Spencer of British Rock band, Jynxt.
Chris Colonna of Aussie outfit, bumblebeez 81!

Yahoo Music
Learning Resources
Privacy Policy
All about Music
What's On  


Rawkus Presents Soundbombing II
label: Rawkus Records
released: 09.28.99
our score: 3.0 out of 5.

download Soundbombing II lyrics and sheet music
You Dropped A Bomb On Me
by: tom reiter

Once again Rawkus Records brings us another compilation of true hip-hop. Sound Bombing II is the one of the less known releases, overshadowed by Lyricist Lounge Vol 2 and Blackstar. The Beat Junkies, J-Rocc and Babu, straight mix each track, introducing each song by scratching into it. Other interludes are voice-overs done by well known artists, such as Prince Paul, Kid Capri, Pete Rock, and others. The first song is by Slim Shady himself, Eminem. Eminem is not a well-produced white boy who got lucky, as some people probably think. He's a true hip-hopper from the underground scene, and shows off his lyrical skills on "Any Man." The following track, "B-Boy Document 99," features The High & Mighty, Mos Def and Mad Skillz. Mos Def continues to amaze with his superioraly smooth flow. Mad Skillz flows like he's from the Flipmode squad, but he's not.

"WWIII" is done by Pharoahe Monch, of Organized Konfusion, and Shabaam Sahdeeq. Pharoahe has his chaotic stutter style in full force, and is supported by a strong refrain. Medina Green is introduced to the mainstream with "Crosstown Beef," which is about exactly what the title says. Mos Def makes an appearance on the track as well, resulting in one of the best tracks on the album. However, the title track, "Soundbombing," takes the crown for best track. Well known hip-hop artists Dialated Peoples and Tash combine to make this hip- hop masterpiece. The lyricsists are supported by a simple boom-bap and guitar riff sample, making the them the center of attention. "Soundbombing" is nothing less then hip-hop ecstasy.

The next few songs don't really seem to fit in. The feel is changed to anger and and has a different attitude. It's a lot like Organized Konfusion's first album. "1-9-9-9" changes things back to smootheness, featuring Common and Sadat X. The Beat Junkies went 'diggin in the crates' for this next track, showcasing Diamond D, who hasn't made an appearance for a long time. They use material from his album 'Stunts, Blunts, and Hip Hop,' released in , to mix into "When It Rains It Pours." 'Soundbombing' finsishes with tracks by Mos Def, Shabaam Sadeeq feat. The Cocoa Brovaz (part of the Boot Camp Klik), and Reflection Eternal, with the end of the Outro has a comical cyphere of J-Rocc and Babu.

Soundbombing II continues Rawkus Records's notoriety for bringing us the East Coast's best of hip-hop. For those who like Lyrcist Lounge, 'Soundbombing II' is something to check out.
17-Oct-1999 1:00 PM

Download Soundbombing II Sheet Music, Guitar Tabs, or Lyrics at musicnotes.com!

If you liked Soundbombing II...

1. Intro
2. The Beat Junkies - Any Man Intro
3. Eminem - Any Man
4. The High & Mighty/Mos Def/Mad Skillz - B-Boy Document 99
5. The Beat Junkies - WWIII Intro
6. Pharoahe Monch/Shabaam Sahdeeq - WWIII
7. R.A. The Rugged Man - Stanley Kubric
8. J-Live/Prince Paul - A Message From
9. Kid Capri/The Beat Junkies - Crosstown Beef Intro
10. Medine Green - Crosstown Beef
11. Marley Marl/Pete Rock/The Beat Junkies - 7XL Intro
12. Sir Menelik/Grand Puba/Sadat X - 7XL
13. Reflection Eternal/Bahamadia - Chaos
14. Dialated Peoples/Tash - Soundbombing
15. Thirstin Howl III - Brooklyn Hard Rock
16. Pharoahe Monch - Mayor
17. The Beat Junkies - Patriotism Intro
18. Company Flow - Patriotism
19. Q-Tip/The Beat Junkies - 1999 Intro
20. Common/Sadat X - 1-9-9-9
21. Diamond - When It Pours It Rains
22. Mos Def/The Beat Junkies - A Message From
23. Mos Def - Next Universe
24. The Beat Junkies - Every Time I Write Intro
25. Shabaam Sahdeeq/The Cocoa Brovas - Every Time I Write
26. Reflection Eternal - On Mission
27. Outro